The team | View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:27 pm

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Hi from Dudley 

Post Hi from Dudley
Hi

I am new to tropical gardening as well as this forum. I live in the West Midlands in the U.K. and am enjoying growing some tropical plants from seed. A bit hit and miss but lots of fun and satisfaction when those seedlings break through. Due to the slow growth I am realising that I need to buy plants too to get a head start and slowly turn my garden more tropical. I grew quite a lot of Dahlia's in the Spring which I love and hope to increase my collection for colour but am fascinated by the palms, tree ferns and big tropical leaved plants. I am surprised and pleased that there are so many members from the UK on here. Some beautiful gardens so I hope to have similar success myself over time as my collection grows. I hope not to be too much of pain asking too many questions and perhaps in time I can contribute something myself when not so 'green behind the ears'.

Musa Basjoo £10 from Gardeners World NEC

Dwarf dahlias in an old wooden sandpit

Tetrapanax Rex £20 from Gardeners World NEC

The three Musa Sikkimensis and two Giant Sequoia that germinated

Four successful Fatsia seeds broke through

My Mountain agave were very exciting and are now making slow but sure progress in the greenhouse but not holding my breath for the rough tree fern spores (bit ambitious for right now!).

Thanks for having me. I am inspired by the beautiful gardens of the members on here - WOW!!

Tim

Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 pm
Site Admin

Post Re: Hi from Dudley
Hi Tim welcome to GOTE its always good to see some new guys here you have a good start with the plants you have bought.
By the looks of your T.rex you may have to protect the growth point come winter as they can rot out when small but you would be very unfortunate to lose it completely.