The team | View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:06 pm

Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 GIMP: Freeware - an interesting, free alternative 

Post GIMP: Freeware - an interesting, free alternative
Anybody else tried using this freeware program? I just started playing with it and so far am quite impressed. It seems to be a nice alternative to expensive programs such as Photoshop. A couple shots I worked on last night:

Paphiopedilum Norito Hasegawa x P. malipoense:

Dendrobium Stardust 'Fire Bird':

If you are interested, here is a link to review and download it GIMP.

Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:48 pm
Profile WWW

I'll have a look at the freeware when I have some time
Pete

Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:54 pm
Profile WWW

A couple more shots made with GIMP - looking good!

Here is a tutorial vid showing how to set up GIMP.

Come on, isn't anybody out there a photo nerd? This is great stuff AND IT IS COMPLETELY FREE!

Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:25 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin

It would be instructive if you would post the photos before GIMP, so I could compare them with the photos after GIMP.

Otherwise, I can't differentiate between the quality added by GIMP and the quality added by the fact that you're a better photographer.

Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:27 pm

It would be instructive if you would post the photos before GIMP, so I could compare them with the photos after GIMP.

Otherwise, I can't differentiate between the quality added by GIMP and the quality added by the fact that you're a better photographer.

David,